Innerpage Banner

Table of Contents


Over forty musicians, musicologists and external experts belonged to the extended team at the heart of the AHRC Research Centre for Musical Performance as Creative Practice, in addition to the sizable membership of the Performance Studies Network. CMPCP’s infrastructure comprised the Directorate, Centre Coordinator, Research Fellows, PhD students, CMPCP Associates, Steering Committee, International Advisory Panel, and a roster of Affiliate Artists. The Centre was also joined by Visiting Fellows working with CMPCP staff for up to three months according to need and perceived benefit.

The Directorate was led by Professor John Rink (Cambridge), who worked closely with four Associate Directors – Professor Nicholas Cook (Cambridge), Professor Eric Clarke (University of Oxford), Professor Daniel Leech-Wilkinson (King’s College London) and Professor Tina K. Ramnarine (Royal Holloway, University of London). The Centre Coordinator was Dr David Mawson, who was based in the Faculty of Music at the University of Cambridge.

Five postdoctoral Research Fellows contributed to CMPCP’s work, including Dr Helen Prior and Dr Dan Tidhar (working on Daniel Leech-Wilkinson’s project), Dr Mirjam James and Dr Karen Wise (John Rink’s project), and Dr Mark Doffman (working on Eric Clarke’s project).

Three students received full funding to carry out doctoral research as part of the CMPCP team: Mats Küssner commenced his studies at King’s College London in 2010, whereas Michael Byrne and Myles Eastwood enrolled at the University of Cambridge in 2011. Other PhD students working on cognate topics under the supervision of members of the CMPCP Directorate included Eugene Feygelson (King’s College London); Emily Payne (University of Oxford); Laryssa Whittaker, Stephanie Vos and Jennie Porton (Royal Holloway); and John McKean, Sheila Guymer, Floris Schuiling, Roderick Chadwick, Ana Llorens and Naomi Woo (University of Cambridge).

The Centre had seven CMPCP Associates – Dr Mine Doğantan-Dack, Professor Helena Gaunt, Dr Nicolas Gold, Dr Juniper Hill, Dr Monique Ingalls, Dr Jeremy Thurlow and Professor Aaron Williamon – all of whom provided high-level input to the Centre’s work on an ongoing basis.

Further support was offered by the Steering Committee, which met twice each year to oversee and help direct CMPCP’s work under the guidance of the Chair, Professor Jan McDonald (Dean of Faculties and Emeritus Professor, University of Glasgow), who was appointed to this role by the AHRC. Other members of the Steering Committee included Dr Jennifer Barnes (Pro-Vice-Chancellor for International Strategy, University of Cambridge), Professor Stephen Cottrell (Professor of Music and Head of the Department of Creative Practice & Enterprise, City University London), Professor Simon Franklin (Head of School of Arts and Humanities, University of Cambridge), Professor Trevor Herbert (AHRC nominee; Open University), Professor Amanda Glauert (Royal College of Music), Professor Christopher Hogwood, Professor Stephanie Jordan (University of Roehampton), and Sir Nicholas Kenyon (Managing Director, Barbican Centre). In addition, Professor John Sloboda served as a Consultant to CMPCP, following on from a similar role in CHARM.

Both the Directorate and the Steering Committee were supported by an International Advisory Panel, whose formal membership included leading scholars within the fields of musicology, ethnomusicology, music psychology and cognate disciplines, as well as distinguished performers, composers and music teachers. The panel’s membership included Professor Philip Bohlman (University of Chicago), Professor Jane Davidson (University of Melbourne), Peter Dejans (Orpheus Instituut), Professor Jonathan Dunsby (Eastman School of Music), Professor Stephen McAdams (McGill University) and Professor Huib Schippers (Queensland Conservatorium Research Centre, Griffith University).

CMPCP was fortunate to have a roster of distinguished Affiliate Artists, including Alfred Brendel, Simon Channing, Margaret Faultless, Christopher Hogwood, Janis Kelly, Joanna MacGregor, Madeleine Mitchell, Helen Reid, Susan Tomes, Roger Vignoles, the four members of the Endellion Quartet (Andrew Watkinson, Ralph de Souza, Garfield Jackson and David Waterman), and six members of the Britten Sinfonia – Nicholas Daniel, Caroline Dearnley, Claire Finnimore, Alexandra Reid, Jacqueline Shave and Lucy Wakeford. These Affiliate Artists actively contributed to at least one CMPCP workshop or conference or to another area of the Centre’s work.